Science / Teaching & Learning

1 of 29

648131-bubbleboySo I’m also taking part in the #29daysofwriting challenge. Here’s my first post, in a month daily writing.

Today is slightly hard to focus my thoughts. If anything, it’s worth reflecting on my meeting with a local bee keeper about his potential participation with our science day. It’s great meeting others who are passionate about enriching children’s education. I came away from the meeting giddy like a school boy. I didn’t quite expect to be offered the opportunity to have real bees in school, in a sealed hive. I wanted to run into my head’s office and proclaim my excitement about getting bees, real bees, into an inner city school. Wow. I can almost see the excitement and delight in the children’s faces as they get to observe closely the bee hive in action.

Fast forward 20 minutes and the initial excitement has floundered. As I think about the possibility of a hive of bees coming into a primary school, I can picture the expression on my head’s face and the almost certain ‘no’ that accompanies it. So, I challenged myself to think about the pros and cons for such an opportunity.

How can we manage the risk but still provide the children with an engaging and exciting opportunity? Luckily, CLEAPSS have published a guide on bees and beekeeping in schools which I am sure will go a long way to managing the risk. However, I think it would be a shame if this opportunity was not provided to the children.

While risk management is important, is anything really risk free? What really matters is weighing up the risk and ensuring steps have been taken to minimise them. We cannot wrap the children we teach in cotton wool, but teach them about managing their own risks, only then can we truly foster them as individuals set for the 21st Centuary.

 

Leave a Reply

