Uncategorized

Life of an #NQT

WOW! I can’t believe how quickly time flies. It feels like only yesterday that I was embarking on my undergraduate teacher training and now, I’ve completed it, and I’m already 3 weeks into my NQT year!

I’m now fully “in charge” of 27 delightful Year 2 children. No class teacher to rely on. Just me. I have to confess, the initial thought of it filled me with dread. How am I going to manage 27 children and ensure they make progress this year? So far, its going well. Yes, it’s early days and they challenge my behaviour management strategies on a daily basis, but I love it.

I love the excitement of seeing what awaits me every day.

I love never really knowing how any day is going to unfold.

I love getting to know each and every one of the children in my class (not a placement class I’ll leave in 6 weeks!)

I love the freedom and responsibility that comes with planning; knowing I’m trusted to make decisions.

I love being valued and respected, as a colleague, a teacher, a professional and a friend.

Even with the ever-increasing “to do list” and the copious amounts of paperwork. I wouldn’t trade this job for the world.

However, as much as the next person, there are moments of doubt, and feeling overwhelmed. Only last week, I had to hold a “meet the teacher” evening, where all the parents from my new class could come in and meet me, face to face, with no rush of the morning ‘hello’ in the playground. I dreaded it – what am I meant to say? I’d barely been teaching their bundles of joy for more than 10 days, and all of these parents were waiting on me. Naturally, in the moment, I managed to talk for England – about homework expectations, what days P.E. falls on, having high expectations this year… In all honesty, I shocked myself!

If there is one thing that has surprised me over the past couple of weeks – it’s beyond belief how quickly I’ve started to become attached and fond of my class. Perhaps it is because I am their teacher. Whatever it is, I do feel incredibly protective and proud of them all, and can’t wait to see what the coming months hold for us, as we continue on this journey of self-discovery and learning together.

Leave a Reply

