ICT / Research / Science / Teaching & Learning

Reach for the stars

Reach-for-the-starsWhile I know this post may appear to be premature, it comes as a reflection on comments that I have started to receive over the past month or so.

Through conversations with lecturers, amongst others, there appears to be growing consensus over my career in the world of education. It has been mentioned to me that I could become a Headteacher within 5 years of graduating in September (2013).

Although I find the idea laughable, it does seem to be gaining momentum. Only today, it came up in conversation with someone who’s opinion I value. I have yet to graduate, and still believe to be finding my feet as a teacher. Therefore, to have these great comments, does appear to be slightly premature. I am very much career focused and driven to be the best teacher I can, and to have a positive impact on children’s lives. I wonder if this is possible after only 5 years of teaching experience?

Because I am so focused on achieving the best grade for my degree, I have not focused on the bigger picture, or indeed where I want my career to head in the future. I guess the obvious question to ask myself is where do I want to be in 5 years time? I find this hard to answer, as I know education is a big world. I do however know where I don’t want to be in 5 years time. I don’t want to be in the same job I’ll be in when I qualify. I will strive for some career progression. In a perfect world, this would be as either the Science or ICT co-ordinator in school, with the possibility of moving into senior management. But, to become a Headteacher, for full responsibility for a school, I’m not too sure I’m ready for that yet!

Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to predict the future, so I can’t comment on where my career will take me, but, 2013 is on the horizon, and is looking bright! I am due to have my first journal article published (albeit as a co-author), I will graduate from the University of Greenwich with a BA (hons) in Primary Education, and I will turn 30.

Overall, I don’t think that’s a bad way to start a year, with certain achievements already in place to be completed. But, that’s not enough. Perhaps I will engage in more research while still an NQT and consider publishing my research into iPads in primary science. Ideally, I would like to see it in Primary Science, or another equally well respected journal.

Either way, I’m excited about starting my career in education and can’t wait to complete my degree and meet my first ever class in September 2013!

3 thoughts on “Reach for the stars

  1. I’d be interested to read some research into iPads in primary education. There doesn’t seem to be much information out there despite a considerable enthusiasm for the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

