Uncategorized

I didn’t see THAT wall coming!

Since starting my final year of teacher training just over a month ago, I’ve been working hard and with my foot on the accelerator. The work has begun to pile up. From submitting my research project proposal to submitting 2 assignments and completing the maths portfolio assessment all due before Christmas, everyone has begun to feel the pressure of this year. However, until now, I have been fine, and I didn’t believe I would also crumble under the pressure. Only today have I noticed it. I’ve been working so solidly (and blindly), on all the assignments and self-study that I didn’t see the imminent wall come hurtling towards me.

Now, I don’t feel like I can function; I can see the ‘to-do’ list growing by the second, but for my second day, apart from attending taught sessions, I have done nothing. I now feel exhausted and the lethargy has set in.

How do I recover from this? I can’t reverse and rewind what has happened – I’ll have a headache from hitting the wall for a few more days. But I need to pace myself. I had already planned my time effectively (see below image) to make the most of Monday – Thursday (I work on a Friday), with a clear intention to only spend the weekends being Dave, not a university student, in an attempt to find the balance between university studies and my personal life.

However, now I’ve hit the wall, I wonder if I’ve been un-realistic, and question if I can afford to have weekends purely for my personal life? Or will university life invade this time too?

At what point is enough enough? I’m aiming for the best degree classification I can achieve, while attempting to strike a balance. However, I can see something is going to have to give. Do I allow my university work to begin consuming my weekends? Or, should I settle for a lower classification of my degree? I really don’t know the answer to this.

The only thing that is clear, is that I want to aim high and be the best teacher I can, but that being a teacher is more than having a great academic record, it’s also about being a well-rounded individual, who engages in more than just education, education, education.

Leave a Reply

