Teaching & Learning

Final Year Anxieties

The new timetable for my last year of studying at university has now been published, and while I’m relieved to finally see how the year will pan out; I’m also anxious.

After all, being the final year, this is it! Everything counts.

My last official taught session happens in April, a mere 7 months away. Before then, I’ve got to pass my skills tests, complete my final school experience and complete the majority of the work for my research project. I know it doesn’t seem like a great deal, but coupled with the ordinary university work (and the fact I seem to put 110% into everything!) I’m not sure how I’m going to get through the year. I think it’s just a matter of focusing on one (or maybe two!) thing(s) at a time.

Ultimately, I put the pressure on myself because I want to do well, and be the best teacher I can. Perhaps my age has something to do with this? Knowing I’ll reach a new decade in my first year of teaching, and having tried to forge a ‘career’ in previous jobs. I know this is potentially my last chance of reaching my goal to become a teacher.

Putting my fears and anxieties aside, I am excited and keen to start the coming year; I have ideas for my research project and am ready for school experience.

I’m sure once lectures have started, I’ll be back in the swing of things, and the momentum will carry me forward and I’ll put the anxieties to rest (at least for the moment).

 

Leave a Reply

